Choral Stream

A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols

Choir of King's College, CambridgeKevin Leighton / King's College Cambridge

December 22, 2016

Hosted by Michael Barone, A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols is a live stereo music and spoken-word broadcast from the chapel of King's College in Cambridge, England.

The 30-voice King's College Choir performs the legendary Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols service of Biblical readings and music at 9 a.m. Central / 10 a.m. Eastern Standard Time on December 24, 2016 simultaneously on the Choral Stream and on Classical Minnesota Public Radio. There will be an encore broadcast on Classical MPR at 7 p.m. Central / 8 p.m. Eastern.

You will be able to listen at this link:

You can download the full details of the festival liturgy and follow along with this PDF of the Service Program Booklet (if you're having trouble with that link, try clicking here).

Commissioned Carol 2016

This year's new carol, commissioned by King's for this service, is by Michael Berkeley. A recording of This Endernight is available to pre-order through the Apple iTunes store and will be released immediately following the broadcast on Christmas Eve. Purchases support the Choir's future performing, touring and recording activities. Pre-order through Apple iTunes.

2016 Service Program Book

A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols

About the King's College Choir

History of the service

King's College Chapel website

Go behind the scenes at King's College Chapel

The Chapel Foundation's website

Give Your Child a Voice, Become a Chorister

King's Chapel Harrison & Harrison pipe organ website

In the queue at King's College

This year's national broadcast of A Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols is made possible by generous support from the Hognander Family Foundation.