Performance Today®

with host Fred Child

Van Cliburn Memorial concert

5fad52 20070711 van cliburn
Van Cliburn

On Thursday, Feb. 27, the Cliburn hosted the Van Cliburn Memorial Concert from the Sundance Square plaza in Fort Worth, Texas. This special event paid tribute to Van Cliburn on the one year anniversary of his passing.

Eight past Cliburn Competition award winners performed in the concert, which can be viewed in the video below.


Sergei Rachmaninov: Sonata No. 2 in B-flat Minor, Op. 36
Yakov Kasman, 1997 silver medalist

John Williams: Suite from Lincoln
Franz Liszt: Funerailles
Simone Pedroni, 1993 gold medalist

Claude Debussy: Menuet and Clair de lune from Suite bergamasque
Felix Mendelssohn: Fantasy in F-sharp Minor, Op. 28
Steven Lin, 2013 jury discretionary award winner

Robert Schumann: Sonata No. 1 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 11
Maxim Philippov, 2001 silver medalist

Franz Liszt: Apres une lecture du Dante
Alexey Koltakov, 2005 finalist

Robert Schumann: Kinderszenen, Op. 15
Johann Sebastian Bach: Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring
Jose Feghali, 1985 gold medalist

Franz Liszt: Ballade No. 2 in B Minor
Francis Poulenc: Les chemins de l'amour
Franz Liszt: Paraphrase on Verdi's Ernani
Antonio Pompa-Baldi, 2001 silver medalist

Peter Tchaikovsky: Selections from The Seasons, Op. 37b
Alexander Kobrin, 2005 gold medalist

5fad52 20070711 van cliburn
Van Cliburn