The Orchestra Now

The Orchestra Now performs at Carnegie Hall in New York. David DeNee

October 10, 2022

The Orchestra Now (TŌN) begins its seventh season with William L. Dawson’s distinctive and emotionally charged Negro Folk Symphony. The composer said he wanted listeners to know that it was "unmistakably not the work of a white man." Also on the program is Shostakovich’s enormous and patriotic Leningrad Symphony, written largely after he had fled the city (now known as St. Petersburg) following the German invasion during World War II.

Episode Playlist

Hour 1

DAWSON: Negro Folk Symphony

Hour 2

SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No. 7 “Leningrad”