Minnesota Orchestra

Disarmed and Unfinished: Enjoy music from the Minnesota Orchestra

The Minnesota Orchestra's 2020 season will be broadcast by TPT and Classical MPR.Minnesota Orchestra

Minnesota Orchestra - May 15, 2021


May 12, 2021

On Friday, May 14, te Minnesota Orchestra presented a live broadcast from Orchestra Hall. Through music by Lancaster, Stravinsky, Penderecki and Schubert, the Minnesota Orchestra reflects on the persistent affliction of gun violence, memorializes a religious leader and plays a famously unfinished work.

This concert was broadcast live on Classical MPR and TPT's Minnesota Channel on Friday, May 14. Listen to the full concert using the audio player above.

Friday, May 14 at 8 p.m.

Disarmed and Unfinished
Minnesota Orchestra
Osmo Vänskä, conductor
Brian Newhouse, guest host

STRAVINSKY: Symphonies of Wind Instruments
LANCASTER: dis[armed]
PENDERECKI: Chaconne in Memory of John Paul II
SCHUBERT: Symphony in B minor, Unfinished

Here is the schedule for the rest of the season:

Friday, May 28 at 8 p.m.

Remembrance and Reflection
Minnesota Orchestra
Osmo Vänskä, conductor
Karen Gomyo, violin
Sarah Hicks, host

SHOSTAKOVICH: Chamber Symphony
SAINT-GEORGES: Violin Concerto in D major, Opus 3, No. 1
SIMON: An Elegy: A Cry From the Grave
MAHLER: Adagietto, from Symphony No. 5

Friday, June 11 at 8 p.m.

Radiance and Light
Minnesota Orchestra
Osmo Vänskä, conductor
Juho Pohjonen, piano

SAINT-GEORGES: Symphony No. 2
CHOPIN: Piano Concerto No. 2
HAYDN: Symphony No. 94

Friday, June 25 at 8 p.m.

Season Finale: A Summer Prelude
Minnesota Orchestra
Osmo Vänskä, conductor
Erin Keefe, violin

VÄNSKÄ: Overture
WEILL: Violin Concerto