Nashville Symphony Orchestra

The Nashville Symphony Orchestra on the Schermerhorn stage in Nashville, Tenn. Nashville Symphony

January 16, 2023

The Nashville Symphony shares a program that combines two beautiful statements of late Romanticism with music by one of the most exquisite orchestrators, Maurice Ravel. Suite of Five Pieces from Ma Mere l’Oye ( Mother Goose) was written amid the turmoil of the early years of modernism and is a veritable symphonic hit of the 20th century. Listen with guest host Valerie Kahler on this week’s episode of SymphonyCast.

Nashville Symphony
Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor
Jun Iwasaki, violin
Kevin Bate, cello
Tamara Winston, English horn

Episode Playlist

Hour 1

SIBELIUS: The Swan of Tuonela

BRAHMS: Concerto in A minor for Violin, Cello and Orchestra

Hour 2


RAVEL: Suite of Five Pieces from Ma Mere l’Oye (Mother Goose)