German Symphony Orchestra

Sheku Kanneh-MasonDecca Classics / Jake Turney

July 11, 2022

Inspired young cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason leads the German Symphony Orchestra passionately through Elgar’s Cello Concerto in E minor; after, a display of the dynamic potential and psychological power of a 129-piece orchestra via works by Roussel and Ravel.

Episode Playlist

Hour 1

ELGAR: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85

BACHARACH: I Say a Little Prayer for You (encore)

Hour 2

ROUSSEL: Bacchus et Ariane, op. 43, Suite No. 2

RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloe, Suite No. 2

ELGAR: Symphony No. 1 (London/Decca 443856)