German Symphony Orchestra

Kirill GersteinCourtesy of the artist

Kirill Gerstein's playing is spontaneous and big, which is exactly what's required for Scriabin's one and only piano concerto.

Episode Playlist

GINASTERA: Concert Suite from "Estancia", Op.8a

SCRIABIN: Piano Concerto in F-sharp minor, Op.20

MAHLER: Symphony No. 1, "Titan"

PAULUS: Veil of Tears, from To Be Certain of the Dawn
Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor; Nashville Symphony Orchestra
Naxos 559740


Joanna L. of Phoenix, AZ, won this week's Encore Contest by correctly identifying Sergei Rachmaninoff's Prelude in C Sharp Minor.