Toa Heftiba/Unsplash

Hygge Holiday

Hygge Holiday

Join host Elena See as she plays a mix of wintry and nostalgic classical pieces designed to accompany listeners as they enjoy cozy wintertime activities.

The Danish concept of hygge, pronounced "HYEW-guh," has no literal English translation, but in spirit it's close to coziness, comfort and togetherness. Hygge is about savoring and celebrating the moments and elements in our control; a reframed perspective on being housebound during the coldest months of the year.


• Fritz Kreisler: Midnight Bells — Robert McDuffie, violin; Cincinnati Pops Orchestra

• Jean Sibelius: Talvikuva (Winter Scene) from Five Sketches — Bengt Forsberg, piano

• Antonio Vivaldi: Winter from the Four Seasons — Australian Chamber Orchestra

• Fritz Kreisler: Love's Sorrow — Joshua Bell, violin

• Claude Debussy: The Snow is Dancing from Children's Corner — Stephen Hough, piano

• Peter Tchaikovsky: January (At the Fireside) from The Seasons — Lang Lang, piano

• Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sleigh Ride — New York Philharmonic

• Sergei Prokofiev: Troika from Lieutenant Kije — Boston Pops Orchestra

• Howard Blake: The Snowman: Walking in the Air — Michael Chertock, piano

• Peter Tchaikovsky: Selections from The Nutcracker: Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, Waltz of the Flowers, Final Waltz and Apotheosis — Berlin Philharmonic

Love the music?

Donate by phone

Show your support by making a gift to YourClassical.

Each day, we’re here for you with thoughtful streams that set the tone for your day – not to mention the stories and programs that inspire you to new discovery and help you explore the music you love.

YourClassical is available for free, because we are listener-supported public media. Take a moment to make your gift today.

More Ways to Give

Your Donation


Latest Holiday Episodes


Latest Holiday Episodes