Donate now to support your one-stop classical music destination

Your contribution powers the wonder of classical music

Performance Today®

with host Fred Child

2021 Classical Woman of the Year: Marin Alsop

Conductor Marin Alsop Theresa Wey
14min : Marin Alsop - Full Interview

Alsop was the first woman to lead major orchestras in the United States, South America, Austria and Britain, and serves as Chief Conductor of ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and Chief Conductor and Curator of Chicago's Ravinia Festival.

"I am deeply honored by this recognition," said Alsop. "My relationship with Performance Today goes back to the very start of my career and being nominated by today's PT listeners brings things full circle and makes this a truly special occasion."

Alsop's numerous contributions to the art form include innovation, leadership, mentorship, and her powerful voice in the classical world and larger cultural scene. She has served as the Baltimore Symphony's Music Director for 14 years, a tenure which included her groundbreaking work with OrchKids, a program that fosters social change through the power of music and has reached more than 2,000 students in underserved Baltimore neighborhoods.

Praise for Alsop in listener nominations include:

"...She has awakened in a worldwide community the quest to appreciate, understand and pursue what and how music enlightens and enriches our daily lives." -Douglas, Oregon

"...She champions new artists and continues the fame of heroes such as Leonard Bernstein. She inspires women and everyone everywhere." -Ellen, Maryland

"Marin has energized the entire community with her outreach to the citizens of Baltimore city and beyond..." -Robert, Maryland

Congratulations to the outstanding nominees for this award:

Abbie Betinis
Adelaide Ferriere
Akemi Takayama
Alice Parker
Alina Ibragimova
Andrea Clearfield
Angela Broeker
Angele Dubeau
Ann Santen
Audra McDowell
Audrey Emilia Carlson
Carol Barnett
Carol Rosenberger
Caroline Shaw
Christine (Kyprie) Potter
Dawn Upshaw
Diana Lee Lucker
Diane A. Wallace
Diane Loudon
Elizabeth Jackson
Eriko Daimo
Erin Freeman
Eunice Kim
Gale Odom
Helen Chang Haertzen
Helene Grimaud
Hilary Hahn
Holly Mortensen
Isata Kanneh-Mason
Jeannette Sorrell
Jennifer Higdon
Jennifer Koh
Jo Ann Miller
Joanne Polk
Joela Jones
Judy M Sullivan
Kaori Fujii
Kathy Saltzman Romey
Kathy Supove
Katie Chandler
Lara Downes
Lara Downs and Rhiannon Givens
Laura Jackson
Leora Zeitlin
Libby Larsen
Linda Raney
Lindsey Jones
Lois Reitzes
Lynn Erickson
Mahani Teave
Maria del Carmen Gil
Marin Alsop
Martha Argerich
Martha Graber
Mary Ann Closson
Mary Jo Gothman
Mei-Ann Chen
Melissa Hansen
Michele Hermes
Michelle Miller-Burns
Nicole Swanson - Sutterfield
Oksana Lyniv
Orli Shaham
Pat Badger
Rachel Barton Pine
Rebecca Albers & Maiya Papach
Reena Esmail
Renee Fleming
Rita Knuesel
Sarah Chang
Sarah Hicks
Sarah Lockwood
Sharon Isbin
Sigrid Johnson
Sissel Kyrkjebo
Sue Ruby
Susan Brady
Susan Iadone
Suzanne Bona
Tara Helen O'Connor
Teresa Compos Falk
Wu Han

2020 Classical Woman of the Year

2019 Classical Woman of the Year

Before you go...

For all we have to offer – the Piano Puzzler, Young Artists in Residence, and the weekly performances themselves – everyone at Performance Today is thankful that you join us each day for this comprehensive musical experience. As a public media program though, we can only do this with your support. Make a financial contribution today to continue to power this program.