Metropolitan Opera live broadcasts return to Classical MPR

The Metropolitan Opera performs a scene from Strauss' 'Der Rosenkavalier.' Ken Howard/Metropolitan Opera

It's another season filled with high notes, big drama and fabulous music as live broadcasts of the Metropolitan Opera return to Classical MPR. Here's what's in store for the 2019-2020 season.

LISTEN Metropolitan Opera live

GLASS — Akhnaten

Noon Saturday, Dec. 7, 2019
Disella Lárusdóttir, J'nai Bridges, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Aaron Blake, Will Liverman, Richard Bernstein, Zachary James
Karen Kamensek, conductor

TCHAIKOVSKY — The Queen of Spades

Noon Saturday, Dec. 14, 2019
Lise Davidsen, Elena Maximova, Larissa Diadkova, Aleksandrs Antonenko, Igor Golovatenko, Alexey Markov
Vasily Petrenko, conductor

VERDI — Macbeth

Noon Saturday, Dec. 21, 2019
(Performance from Fall 2019)
Anna Netrebko, Matthew Polenzani, Plácido Domingo, Ildar Abdrazakov
Marco Armiliato, conductor

MOZART — The Magic Flute

Noon Saturday, Dec. 28, 2019
(Abridged English-language version)
Ying Fang, Kathryn Lewek, David Portillo, Rodell Rosel, Joshua Hopkins, Patrick Carfizzi, Soloman Howard
Lothar Koenigs, conductor

R. STRAUSS — Der Rosenkavalier

11 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 4, 2020
Camilla Nylund, Magdalena Kožená, Golda Schultz, Katharine Goeldner, Matthew Polenzani, Thomas Ebenstein, Markus Eiche, Gunther Groissböck
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor

BERG — Wozzeck

Noon Saturday, Jan. 11, 2020
Elza van den Heever, Tamara Mumford, Christopher Ventris, Gerhard Siegel, Andrew Staples, Peter Mattei, Christian Van Horn
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

VERDI — La Traviata

Noon Saturday, Jan. 18, 2020
Aleksandra Kurzak, Dmytro Popov, Quinn Kelsey
Karel Mark Chichon, conductor

PUCCINI — La Bohème

Noon Saturday, Jan. 25, 2020
(performance from Fall 2019)
Ailyn Pérez, Olga Kulchynska, Matthew Polenzani, David Bizic, Andrei Zhilikovsky, Jongmin Park, Arthur Woodley
Marco Armiliato, conductor

THE GERSHWINS — Porgy and Bess

Noon Saturday, Feb. 1, 2020
Angel Blue, Golda Schultz, Latonia Moore, Denyce Graves, Frederick Ballentine, Eric Owens, Alfred Walker, Donovan Singletary
David Robertson, conductor

BERLIOZ — La Damnation de Faust

Noon Saturday, Feb. 8, 2020
Elīna Garanča, Michael Spyres, Ildar Abdrazakov
Edward Gardner, conductor

MASSENET — Manon

Noon Saturday, Feb. 15, 2020
(Performance from Oct. 26, 2019)
Lisette Oropesa, Michael Fabiano, Carlo Bosi, Artur Ruciński, Brett Polegato, Kwangchul Youn
Maurizio Benini, conductor

MOZART — Le Nozze di Figaro

Noon Saturday, Feb. 22, 2020
Anita Hartig, Hanna-Elisabeth Müller, Marianne Crebassa, MaryAnn McCormick, Mariusz Kwiecień, Adam Plachetka, Maurizio Muraro
Cornelius Meister, conductor

HANDEL — Agrippina

Noon Saturday, Feb. 29, 2020
Brenda Rae, Joyce DiDonato, Kate Lindsey, Iestyn Davies, Duncan Rock, Matthew Rose
Harry Bicket, conductor

MOZART — Cosi fan tutte

Noon Saturday, March 7, 2020
Nicole Car, Serena Malfi, Heidi Stober, Ben Bliss, Luca Pisaroni, Gerald Finley
Harry Bicket, conductor

WAGNER — Der Fliegende Hollander

Noon Saturday, March 14, 2020
Anja Kampe, Mihoko Fujimura, Sergey Skorokhodov, David Portillo, Sir Bryn Terfel, Franz-Josef Selig
Valery Gergiev, conductor

ROSSINI — La Cenerentola

11:30 a.m. Saturday, March 21, 2020
Tara Erraught, Javier Camarena, Davide Luciano, Maurizio Muraro, Christian Van Horn
James Gaffigan, conductor

MASSENET — Werther

Noon Saturday, March 28, 2020
Erin Morley, Joyce DiDonato, Piotr Beczała, Etienne Dupuis, Alan Opie
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

GLUCK — Orfeo ed Euridice

Noon Saturday, April 4, 2020
(Performance from Fall 2019)
Hei-Kyung Hong, Hera Hyesang Park, Jamie Barton
Mark Wigglesworth, conductor

PUCCINI — Tosca

Noon Saturday, April 11, 2020
Anna Netrebko, Brian Jagde, Michael Volle, Patrick Carfizzi
Bertrand de Billy, conductor

VERDI — Simon Boccanegra

11:30 a.m. Saturday, April 18, 2020
Ailyn Pérez, Joseph Calleja, Carlos Álvarez, Elchin Azizov, Dmitry Belosselskiy
Carlo Rizzi, conductor

TURANDOT PUCCINI — Turandot

Noon Saturday, April 25, 2020
Nina Stemme, Hibla Gerzmava, Marco Berti, James Morris
Carlo Rizzi, conductor

JANÁCEK — Káta Kabanová

Noon Saturday, May 2, 2020
Susanna Phillips, Daniela Mack, Dolora Zajick, Pavel Cernoch, Štefan Margita, Paul Appleby, Sir John Tomlinson
Lothar Koenigs, conductor

DONIZETTI — Maria Stuarda

Noon Saturday May 9, 2020
Diana Damrau, Jamie Barton, Stephen Costello, Andrzej Filończyk, Michele Pertusi
Maurizio Benini, conductor