Performance Today®


yMusicPhotograph by Allan Amato

August 22, 2018

Six musical friends in New York have a part-time project called yMusic, a one-of-a-kind ensemble with an interest in "flourishing in the overlap between pop and classical worlds." On Thursday's Performance Today, hear yMusic perform "Everness" by Mark Dancigers, with special thanks from our friends at Classical KING-FM in Seattle.

Episode Playlist

Hour 1

Sergei Rachmaninoff (arr. Lucien Cailliet): Prelude in G minor, Op 23, No. 5
Vancouver Symphony Orchestra; Sergiu Comissiona, conductor
Rachmaninoff: Symphonic Dances
CBC 5143

Sergei Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43
Stephen Hough, piano; Aspen Festival Orchestra; Miguel Harth-Bedoya, conductor
Aspen Music Festival and School, Benedict Music Tent, Aspen, CO

Piano Puzzler: This week's contestant is Mirabai Knight from New York, NY

Mark Dancigers: Everness
Classical KING FM's Second Inversion. Rethink Classical, KING FM studios, Seattle, WA

William McGibbon: Sonata No. 3 in B minor
Early Music Underground: Joshua Romatowski, flute; Christine Wilkinson Beckman, baroque violin; Henry Lebedinsky, harpsichord
KING FM Northwest Focus Live, KING FM Studios, Seattle, WA

Hour 2

Peter Tchaikovsky: Sleeping Beauty: Waltz
New York Philharmonic; Kurt Masur, conductor
Pas de deux: Tchaikovsky Famous Waltzes
Teldec 94571

Brad Richter: Navigating Lake Bonneville
Brad Richter, guitar; Viktor Uzur, cello
UC Davis, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, Davis, CA

Samuil Feinberg: Piano Sonata No 1 in A major Op. 1
Marc-Andre Hamelin, piano
The Aspen Music Festival and School, Harris Hall, Aspen, CO

Leonard Bernstein: On the Waterfront: Love Theme
Israel Philharmonic Orchestra; Leonard Bernstein, conductor
Bernstein: Reaching For The Note
DG 459552

Peter Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 "Pathetique" Movement 4 Finale
New York Philharmonic; Leonard Bernstein, conductor
Tchaikovsky: Symphonie No. 6 "Pathetique"
DG 419604

Leonard Bernstein: Thirteen Anniversaries (1988): Movement 12 For Aaron Stern
Alexandre Dossin, piano
Bernstein: Thirteen Anniversaries
Naxos 559756