Performance Today

An orchestra with orbiting wind players

River Oaks Chamber Orchestra, Houston,, photograph by Jeff Grass

August 12, 2017

An orchestra on stage... and five wind players orbiting the concert hall; it's an experiential, choreographed concerto. On Saturday's Performance Today, hear the world premiere concert performance of "The Cosmos" by Michael Gilbertson.

Episode Playlist

Hour 1

Joseph Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 57 in F Major, Hob. XVI/47: Movement 1
Rudolf Buchbinder, piano
Joseph Haydn: Piano Sonatas Vol. 2
Teldec 35794

Joseph Haydn: String Quartet No. 42 in C major, Op. 54/2: Movements 2-4
Attacca Quartet
Virginia Arts Festival, St. John's Episcopal Church, Portsmouth, VA

Piano Puzzler: This week's contestant is Bob Lagerquist from Eugene, OR

Mily Balakirev: Symphony No. 1 in C: Movements 1 & 2
German Symphony Orchestra; Alan Buribayev, conductor
Philharmonie, Berlin, Germany

Hour 2

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Sonata K. 330 in C Major: Movement I. Allegro moderato
Fazil Say, piano
Mozart - Piano Sonatas and Variations
Atlantic 21970

Marguerite Roesgen-Champion: Suite francaise
Monica Raga, flute; Maria Jesus Avila, harp
Teatro Monumental, Madrid, Spain

Michael Gilbertson: The Cosmos (2016): Movements 2-5
River Oaks Chamber Orchestra; David Danzmayr, conductor
River Oaks Chamber Orchestra, St. John the Divine Church, Houston, TX

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Duo in G major for Violin and Viola, K. 423
Ida Kavafian, violin; Yura Lee, viola
Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, New York, NY