Performance Today


Leonidas Kavakos, Greek

July 12, 2012

The Greek name Leonidas means "brave as a lion." Violinist Leonidas Kavakos lives up to his name in a bold, fiery performance of Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto, from a concert in the Netherlands. But Kavakos shows his tender side too in Tchaikovsky's sweet, singing melodies. We'll hear Leonidas Kavakos' thoughts on what makes this concerto great, and his performance with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Amsterdam.

Episode Playlist

Hour 1

Peter Tchaikovsky: Nocturne in D Minor, Op. 19
Nina Kotova, cello, the Moscow Chamber Orchestra, Constantine Orbelian, conductor

Wilhelm Stenhammar: Seraillets Have (In the Harem Garden), from the Korvisor
The Pro Arte Festival Chorus, Arthur Sjogren, director
First Presbyterian Church, New Canaan, Connecticut

Peter Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D, Op. 35
Leonidas Kavakos, violin, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Karel Mark Chichon, conductor
The Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Jeff Peterson: Kahealani (Call from the Heavens)
Jeff Peterson, slack key guitar, ETHEL
Grand Canyon Music Festival, Grand Canyon, Arizona

Hour 2

Alexander von Zemlinsky: Humoresque
The Aulos Woodwind Quintet

John Dowland: The King of Denmark's Galliard, from Lachrimae
The Phantasm Viol Consort, Laurence Dreyfus, director and viol
Wigmore Hall, London, England

William Byrd: O Lord, Make thy Servant Elizabeth.Anthem
Stile Antico
Schwetzingen Festival, Schwetzingen, Germany

Alexander von Zemlinsky: Die Seejungfrau (the Mermaid)
Dresden Staatskapelle, Juraj Valcuha, conductor
Semper Opera, Desden, Germany