Fields of Wonder

Join Cantus for 'Fields of Wonder.'
Federico Respini/Unsplash
Fields of Wonder
Classical Programs

Cantus is known for innovative, relevant programming and their sourcing of fascinating music for concerts.  Those elements come together beautifully in Fields of Wonder, a concert exploring the relationship between composers and the poets whose words they set to music.  All of the music is composed or arranged by Black composers, with the title work by Margaret Bonds, a setting of poetry by her good friend Langston Hughes that has seldom been performed since its premiere in 1963.  Elsewhere in the concert, there’s music based on sacred and secular texts, music for prayer and praise, music about love — and even music about dancing! 

Join host Andrea Blain for this special program.


Gail Hamilton, arr. Mervyn Warren: “Let the Words”

Rosephanye Powell: “When We Sing”

Christopher H. Harris: “I Would Live in Your Love”

Brandon Waddles: “If My People”

Ysaӱe Barnwell: “Tango With God”

Kevin Allen: Motecta Trium Vocum - “O Salutaris Hostia”; “Panis Angelicus”; “Te Decet Laus”

Margaret Bonds: Fields of Wonder - I. “Heaven”; II. “Snail”; IV. “Moonlight Night: Carmel”; V. “Snake”; VI. “New Moon”; “Birth”

Florence B. Price: “Nod”

Sydney Guillaume: “Renmen, Renmen (Go On and Love)”